April 14, 2024

FEU, NU pairs triumph in BVR Summer Kickoff in Seafront Residences

FEU’s Melody Pons and Sheena Cafe displayed tremendous sand court smarts in a 21-14, 21-10 win over Katipunan's Gena Hora and Euri Eslapor to rule the women's division of the 2024 Beach Volleyball Republic Summer Kickoff tournament at the Seafront Residences in Batangas on Saturday.

       Another NU duo is on the rise as Johnwayne Dionela and Rain Skyler Gemarino pulled off a 21-17, 21-12 victory over CSB’s Kevin Ondevilla and  Rocky Motol in the men's side.

      Completing the podium finishers were women's bronze medalists Frenchie Premaylon and Love Lopez and men's third placers Kyle Retiza and Reynan Postorioso, both from FEU.

       Aboitiz Land's Fille Cayetano and Bea Tan, Seafront Residences' Dzi Gervacio and Iris Tolenada turned back the hands of clock during their exhibition match.

      Cayetano and Tan hardly missed a beat as they bested Gervacio and Tolenada, who made her first sand court appearance in eight years,  21-16, 21-17.

      A beach volleyball camp was also conducted for kids who want to know the basics of the sport during the morning and afternoon sessions.

       The just-concluded one-day league will serve as a prelude to the much-awaited BVR on Tour season from May to July with the Puerto Galera, Sipalay and Davao hosting this year's legs.

       The BVR thanks Aboitiz Land, which has been supporting the BVR on Tour since 2017, as it continues to provide a platform to grow the game with the rise of new talents who will be building blocks of the sport's future.

      Through the BVR on Tour, the organization’s program of creating new talent offering a platform for consistent tournaments which calls for consistent training amongst teams.

       A total of six women's teams and six men's squads joined in the day-long event.

      UST's Grydelle Progella and Chenggay Dadang, NU's Vilmarie Toos and Laiza Angelie Benigay and LPU Manila's Monna Sherina Bañares and Jelainne Aisley Camia competed in the women's side.

     In the men's side, Ateneo's Lutrelle Taneo and Tim Batac, UST's Lance Malinao and Michael Lagaran and FEU 2's Kyle Tandoc and Amet Bituin have also participated.