June 23, 2023

BVR on Tour Sipalay gets underway Saturday

TWO pairs from newly-minted UAAP women's volleyball queens La Salle will bring their championship pedigree in the sand court as the highly-anticipated 24-team Beach Volleyball Republic on Tour Sipalay City leg gets underway this weekend at the Poblacion Beach.

       Hometown favorite Maicah Larroza and Matet Espina are in Pool C as they will go up against Bianca Lizares and MJ Ebro, who are reunited for Team Preska, Gelimae Villanueva and Kyla Gallego of Pontevedra, and Jeyanah Ledesma and Alexandra Agda of hosts Sipalay.

      Baby Jyne Soreño and Lorien Gamboa, meanwhile, are placed in Pool A together with Candon City third placers Bea Tan and Jennifer Cosas of Abante Negrense, Jana Cane and Yumi Furukawa of Ateneo, and another Sipalay duo in  Jastine Amaro and Kimberly Debuyan.       

      The participation of the Lady Spikers in the second leg will definitely level up the competition.

      Pool B comprises of Honey Grace Cordero and Roma Joy Doromal of Grass to Bone, Erjane Magdato and Edrilyn Carbajosa of Pontevedra, and Janelle Malala and Trisha Mae Geneblaza of Sipalay.

      Lizares and Cordero, runner-ups to NU's Kly Orillaneda and Kathrina Epa in the first leg in Candon City, will go separate ways this time in their quest for a breakthrough BVR on Tour championship.  Lizares and Ebro were partners in the BVR Santa Ana, Cagayan bubble two years ago.

      Villaneueva and Gallego have won another regional beach volleyball championship at the expense of Lizares and Ebro earlier this month.       

      In the men's division, Harbor Pilot's Ranran Abdilla and Rancel Varga are gunning a sweep of this month's leg championships.

      Abdilla and Varga, who had a perfect campaign in Candon City, will go up against Sugaton twins Philip and Peter of Abanse Negrense, and Arbel Belleza and Rowell Panaguiton of Sipalay in Pool A.

      AJ Pareja and Vincent Nadera of Beach Volleyball Manila headlines Pool B together with Lucas Yang and Jovan Ang of Singapore, John Joseph Mirasol and Johnrel Talita of Sipalay, and Allaine Tejares and John Carl Araneta of D'Prints. 

      Toto de Pedro and Eljhay Ronquillo of Abanse Negrense banners Pool C, which also has DLSU's Vince Maglinao and Andre Espejo, Ateneo's Amil Pacinio and Jian Salarzon, and Michael Arañez and Dan Mark Claridad of Sipalay. 

        Pool play action will start at 7 a.m.

       The top two finishers per bracket along with the two best third placers (lucky losers) in this Saturday's pool round will advance to the quarterfinals on Sunday.

       The BVR on Tour Sipalay leg was made possible in partnership with the City Government of Sipalay under Mayor Maria Gina M. Lizares which aims to promote sports among the youth and to boost the local tourism industry.

       Aside from the matches, there will be the BVR Sandroots program on Sunday, as well as music in the Sipalay City Food Park featuring local band Mojo Nova on Saturday night.

       The matches will be livestreamed via the BVR website at beachvolleyballrepublic.ph and follow BVR's social media accounts on Facebook, TikTok, Instagram and Twitter.